Okay, you’ve all seen it

Time to get on with your lives, okay?

It was a post a long time coming; a post born out of frustration and grief; a post detailing my despair at seeing the realities of my misspent “youth.”

When I look at Taylor now, I don’t see what he should have been. He squandered the gigantic opportunity that was American Idol and national television exposure by not staying focused and partying too much (I still say the cigarettes and booze have wrecked his vocal cords). His talent is adrift. The album produced immediately post-Idol was tight, well-oiled, expertly produced, and fun to listen to. The Distance, imo, is none of these things. I liked one song on that CD.

On hearing rumors his next album will have a “country flair” it makes me think he doesn’t have his own sound anymore. Country music is soaring in this country and around the world right now, so he’s jumping on that bandwagon. I’ve said before and I’ll say again: just because someone is Southern and may speak with a bit of a twang it doesn’t make them a country singer. Taylor embracing country does not feel organic and real. It’s disingenuous. Sorry if that bugs anyone, but it’s how I feel.

He needs to buckle down, write some genuine tunes, and record an album true to himself rather than what the industry says is hot at the moment. Not that he asked me or cares, but that never stopped anyone else in the fandom from trying to direct his every move.

FYI: I’m still not a representative of any fan board. NOT an Admin anywhere, got it? It may not be official, but let’s face it – I haven’t done anything on any message board in ages.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rhonda9913
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 14:16:16

    but amy you are still listed as admin at the boogie

    Reply

    • peaches
      Jul 09, 2013 @ 11:29:39

      Excoboard has safeguards in place to keep Admins from deleting each other. Evidently, it was a result of a war between admins on some sports board where one guy deleted the other guy and the deleted guy had to go through excoboard to get back into his own board! It’s kind of a pain in the rear to get removed once you’re in, so it’s just simpler to leave it as-is for the time being. My status will be amended sooner or later.

      Reply

  2. rhonda9913
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 14:18:54

    and i agree – Taylor has lost his wad. Vegas lounge singer like Simon said.
    Country ?? they will never accept him there.

    Reply

    • peaches
      Jul 09, 2013 @ 11:22:43

      I always got the impression Cowell actually liked Taylor, but he was right about his marketability. Taylor has not done as well as he should have.

      I don’t know if Country will accept him or not. People said Darius Rucker would never be accepted, but now they love him and he even won the CMA’s New Artist of the Year, 2009 award. It all depends on the approach, I suppose. If Taylor can convince them he is real, he might have a shot. I just don’t personally believe he is.

      Reply

  3. rhonda9913
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 09:26:22

    Amy, I must call you out on your added statement. You still delete people and move threads at the Boogie. Why are you denying that?

    Reply

    • peaches
      Jul 09, 2013 @ 11:24:43

      I’m denying it because you are wrong. All I have done in recent months is to alter some dead links on the header and update the toolbar. I don’t know who is giving you your information, but you have been misinformed. I haven’t deleted anyone’s account in I can’t remember how long, and to the best of my knowledge no one has been deleted in ages (but you would have to ask a different Admin about that since I have no firsthand knowledge).

      The Boogie is NOT the rampant deleting machine other people seem to think it is.

      Reply

  4. rhonda9913
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 12:49:41

    No one told me anything. There was a thread memorializing Miss Jonnie at the Boogie recently and it was moved from News to General. I pm’d Diane and asked her why. Diane said she didn’t move it so we assumed it was you since you and Diane are the only Admins there (or so I thought).

    This is what I meant when I said you still move threads. Sorry if I was wrong about the deleting part !! I’m not fussing about it – just curious because of what you wrote above in your blog. I personally could care less about Taylor and any of his boards. You just seem to be torturing yourself by still being there. Seems for your own mental health you would just leave !! I know I would since my feelings have drastically changed regarding Taylor and I don’t care to be a part of his world in any way, shape, or form. I took your blog post to be a kindred spirit in this regard.

    Reply

    • peaches
      Jul 09, 2013 @ 13:06:40

      Well, if I did move that particular thread I forgot about it. It sounds like something I would do, though, because a thread memorializing a person is NOT News (although it should be stickied). I admit, my memory is not infallible.

      Blame the librarian in me for my bordering-on-obsessive need to categorize everything. :-)

      I do know the deleting people part is true. It has always been something we as Admins abhorred doing and in The Boogie’s history there were very few actual banishments.

      No worries. I have no issue answering questions from calm, polite people who are not trolls. I suppose I stick around on The Boogie because at one time Taylor was a big part of my life. I check in from time to time to see if he is doing anything interesting, just not as an Admin. The truth is I’m just not that invested anymore.

      Reply

  5. Jen Wang
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 17:58:12

    I don’t check ye olde Boogie Board very often, so I missed this post. Which section is it in? Exco has a horrible search function. I have to agree with you that Taylor has lost a fair amount of mojo since AI.

    Reply

    • peaches
      Oct 11, 2013 @ 08:45:42

      It wasn’t a post on The Boogie Board, it was a blog entry that I removed. There was so much traffic and bickering over it, that once I figured it was seen by most (and probably copied and pasted on various hate blogs *cough* griz *cough*) it didn’t need to stay up.

      Exco’s search function does suck.

      The “lost mojo” as you put it, (at least for me) is more of “stuck-in-a-rut,” but the sentiment is the same. I just can’t get excited about the same show over and over, ad nauseum.

      Reply

      • Jen Wang
        Oct 11, 2013 @ 17:36:55

        Thanks for explaining. I always miss the good stuff due to not following hate blogs, ha! (What’s a griz?)

        I stopped really following Taylor a couple years ago, but I’m still hopeful he’ll put out interesting work in the future.

        Reply

        • peaches
          Oct 18, 2013 @ 21:28:14

          Yeah, I have faint hopes he’ll make a bigger splash on the entertainment world at some point, but I’m not holding my breath. Although I am intrigued by his upcoming appearance on Law & Order: SVU. I love that show.

          A griz is difficult to define. Just watch your back when it’s around.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

